top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdya Misra

Is solo paddling the new normal?

People who read this blog regularly know I always encourage people to go paddling with their friends. After all, its a social activity and the beauty of paddling is best enjoyed in company.


Somewhere near the Jurassic Coast in 2017 (Photo credit: Explora Expeditions)

When I wrote my last blog post, COVID-19 was the new scary kid that no one knew much about. Now, its a household name and almost everyone is an expert in viral transmission dynamics, public health and economic development. While there are still many unknowns, what we reliably know is staying away from others will be protective for us and them- which makes social paddling seem like a thing of the past.


Those who can, will attempt to go kayaking, canoeing, paddleboarding alone or with one other person for the next few weeks (or months?). I say this with some trepidation, because this will introduce an element of risk and I daresay get dull after the novelty of being allowed out has worn off.


What about those of us that don't have our own equipment or don't feel confident heading out alone? Beginners to the sport may be feeling a whole new level of FOMO, which I can relate to as I miss kayaking in salty water.


I got lucky this year and managed to nab a second hand paddleboard so I can, in theory, head out on my own. While I feel confident on the water if the conditions appear gentle, driving alone to new and unknown launch points gives me a lot of anxiety, especially since I have no idea where I am allowed to go paddling in due to COVID-19 related restrictions. If I'm allowed somewhere, maybe its not safe for me to go there on my own.



This is where I want to be- the sea!

Yesterday, I was thinking about one trip I took in May 2018 after driving in heavy rain from Cambridge to the edge of the Norfolk broads to go canoeing on my own. I have no idea how or why I did that; the thought of driving two hours to go paddling in bad weather sounds absolutely insane.


Today is a beautiful sunny day, as we've seen several of in recent weeks (how many months has it been since it rained?) and I am missing out on kayaking since I don't have my own boat. I am considering however, heading out to the canal to have a bit of fun on the paddleboard. I wonder how many others have had the same idea and if it won't really be a "solo" experience. Stay safe and within your limits if you're heading out today!



58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page