top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdya Misra

Discrimination and Inclusion: where is the line?

Diversity and Inclusivity are the newest buzzwords in our day to day life. I'm calling them buzzwords, because it seems to be the flavour du jour to get yourself noticed irrespective of whether you are truly inclusive or at least, taking steps to becoming more inclusive. There are multiple ways of making others feel unwelcome and there are ways to avoid them.


Why am I talking about inclusivity in this blog?


I've been paddling since 2014, have been part of several canoe clubs in the UK, attended several trips and courses. There are days when I still wonder if I belong in the world of paddlesports or if I'm just fighting for a corner. I've been actively discriminated against for no good reason, and passively discriminated too, often referred to by others as "making me feel unwelcome". The purpose of this post is to make people aware of this huge problem in paddlesports and offer some tools to combat it.


Midsummer paddle in Stockholm. Photo credit: Hanna Mari Ahonen























Direct discrimination: a form of discrimination where someone is treated unfairly because of their gender, race, physical/mental ability.


Indirect discrimination: a form of discrimination where everyone is treated the same, but it is less fair for a group of people (often based on gender, race, physical or mental ability).


I don't believe everyone chooses to discriminate, but we need to take active steps to make people feel more included. Based on mine and others' experiences as a beginner paddler, experienced paddler, group leader and coach across disciplines, I have identified the following themes of (indirect) discrimination in paddlesports and how we can combat these [Please note: quotes are modified from original to capture the essence but make them non-identifying].


  • Time: the biggest barrier (in my view) is free time to participate in paddlesports. Even though the pandemic has given us the gift of time so some of us can take up paddlesports, many of us still work crazy hours, have caring responsibilities that may not allow time for paddling. There is no easy solution, but being mindful of this barrier can change how people access the sport.


The problem: "My local canoe club runs sessions 6-8pm but that's when I'm at work and cannot join them. I have contacted them, but they are all volunteers and that's the only time they can paddle".


"I emailed my local canoe club and they said I couldn't paddle with them. I said I have my own kit and they said no".


My solution: I offer adhoc sessions at different times of day, different days of the week so many different people can join me for a paddle. Parents bring their kids on sessions too!



Parents can bring their children along to all my sessions. Spring 2021 in Liverpool.

  • Cost: any paddling kit, whether for summer or winter costs money. Many people who start paddling have the money to buy lots of new gear to enjoy their new hobby but the reality isn't the same for others. Most people don't know if they will be paddling regularly and don't want to invest in lots of kit. We're also living in a very uncertain job environment, where people make not feel comfortable spending lots of cash on a new hobby.


The problem: "I got very cold last week when I fell out of my kayak. The instructor who ran the session told me they always wear a drysuit and don't feel the cold while getting back into the kayak" .


"The instructor told me I need a lighter paddle to get faster so I'm saving for that".


My solution: Beginners need supportive coaching, not expensive kit. Yes, a drysuit will keep us dry and warm but if it means using up a month's rent, please don't encourage it. I don't force people to do wet exits if they are not dressed for the water. If I'm asked, I suggest people get neoprene leggings and wear a waterproof coat. Even a thin one from Mountain Warehouse will do the trick.


My pink jacket is good enough for a chilly paddle in Lydiate, summer 2020. Photo credit: Liverpool SUP Co

  • Paddle ability: the physical side of sport will always intimidate those of us who aren't naturally athletic. We all have our own triggers and find different things intimidating which make us feel unable. Older people often say they feel they won't be able to participate because they lack the stamina to paddle. Petite paddlers often say they don't have the endurance to keep up with regular sized people and larger paddlers feel they lack the balance to stay upright. From my point of view, this is because most paddle groups look a certain way and the lack of diversity can be intimidating.


The problem: "Someone in my group couldn't keep up with the others so I asked them to consider going to beginners classes only".


"I got told off by the instructor because I couldn't get the kayak to do what he wanted me to do".


"If you want to know the trip plan in advance, this paddle is not for you".


"Paddleboarding is not for the severely obese".


My solution: Rome wasn't built in a day, we have to take small steps to make progress sometimes. A friend would never say: "You're slower than me, so we can't paddle together" would they? or shout at you if you didn't manage an effective turn around the headland? A good coach will adjust the group to the slowest paddler and make sure everyone is learning at their own pace. The last one is in fact direct discrimination and the owner was reported.


Learning to roll a sea kayak in 2017. Photo credit: Adriana Eyzaguirre.

  • Body size: This is linked to the last one because it affects how we feel about our paddling ability. Smaller paddlers at clubs will know it is very difficult to find suitable kit to fit. Bigger paddlers everywhere already know its a nightmare to find suitable clothing that fits and it is much worse with paddle clothing. Manufacturers are taking small steps to become more inclusive here but there are big problems in this area, unfortunately specifically affecting women. The most frequent question on Facebook groups, is "What should I wear when I'm paddling?".


The problem: "I couldn't do a self rescue during my sea kayak assessment because the drysuit was too tight on my legs".


"I can't get anything in my size".


"Your body size may be a barrier for paddling, but we can find a way around it".


"If you don't get stronger, you will never progress in your paddling".


My solution: If you can afford it, try different things online or go to a shop to try things on. Custom made kit is now increasingly offered at not higher than usual prices. Seek out experienced paddle friends who are a similar size to you to get help regarding kit. I prefer to paddle in separates because my body is not a uniform size and this advice often helps others find the right clothing. Men often advise on kit to women which is not ideal because our bodies are too different and our heat thresholds are wildly different.


Kayaks and boards together on my sessions. Spring 2021 in Liverpool. Photo credit: Nada Aly

  • Paddling imagery: Paddle disciplines have their own cliques sometimes and a certain stereotype associated with each. I was recently asked during the British Canoeing Paddlecast, why I think more women are taking to paddleboarding. Is it because its easy? more accessible? or is it because we don't have a clear stereotype associated with paddleboarding and women feel more comfortable joining the sport? This is a powerful suggestion, but close your eyes and picture a kayaker, a canoeist and a paddleboarder. How many are men?


The problem: "Kayaking is a serious sport and paddleboarding is just the new toy for women who want to take instagram selfies".


"We have been trying to get girls involved in paddling for years, we didn't know we just needed to invent a new discipline called paddleboarding".


My solution: Be part of the change and share images of more diverse groups paddling. I have been getting people to play games in kayaks and canoes to remind them its not all about "serious sport" but also having fun. If young girls and women in your group are doing technical paddling, take photos of them and share them on social media. If as a business you share images of just one type of person or body, maybe reflect on why you do that.


Where it all began: kayaking in Stockholm (2016). Photo credit: Katarina Larsen.

  • Paddle language: So much of our communication now is written. Text messages, social media posts, blogs about paddling are an invaluable resource to refer back to, but also at the moment since we aren't meeting many people face to face. I'm part of four kayaking groups and around five groups about paddleboarding on Facebook. More and more women tell me that they have left the paddleboarding groups because of the comments left by others, either annoying them or making them feel bad about themselves. We've essentially created an intimidating environment for beginners and experienced paddlers.


The problem: "If you can't rescue yourself from your craft, you shouldn't be paddling it".


"If you're new to the sport and asking these questions, it means you're not ready to go into that environment".


"Its called SUP. You cannot kneel when you're on a paddleboard".


My solution: Please take a step back and try to be constructive by offering clear advice like "please get a lesson", "go with someone local and experienced". People are trying paddlesports in large numbers and they need support and encouragement, not condescending sarcasm. Also, please notice I call it "paddleboarding" not "stand up paddleboarding", because I don't say "sit down kayaking" "sit down canoeing" or "stand up surfing". These labels create additional barriers we don't need (see above!).


Sometimes we need to kneel and that is OK. Photo credit: SUP Wirral

  • Mental fitness: The mental aspect of sport is now being discussed for athletes but not so much for recreational sports. Yes, paddleboarding is beneficial for our mental health and is being used by GPs to encourage wellbeing in their patients. But what about those of us who aren't mentally unwell but also not thriving? Recently, British Canoeing decided to boost women's confidence by posting messages on their social media channels that said "women lacked the performance mindset" and "believe in yourself". They also shared a video highlighting the importance of mental toughness and resilience in sport, but I think it missed a mark.


The problem: "You need to get more confident in that boat to progress further"


"Just believe in yourself. You have trained hard, just go and show it on the water"


"Women need to be mentally tough, get out of their comfort zone to perform in sport"


My solution: We need someone who will listen but also someone who can give us the tools to overcome barriers, not mantras on social media. I don't force coaching on anyone, I give learners time and space to think about what they want out of the session. No one is pushed out of their comfort zone, no one is forced to take risks they feel uncomfortable with and every session on the water is about building confidence by taking small steps.


  • Intersectionality: Last but not least, how people judge us is a huge form of discrimination. Aspects of all the previous points come into play here, but it needed a special mention from me because this is the biggest barrier I face when paddling. I'm a short woman, not exactly muscular, and not white. When people see me, they make a few assumptions about me; some accurate and others not very much. I'm highlighting it here so others realise how their words and actions impact people because of intersectionality: where intersecting and overlapping social identities put some people at a huge disadvantage compared to others who are extremely privileged.

The problem: "It must be hard for you to keep up with the group"


"You're strong for a girl"


"You may be the coach but I've been paddling longer than you and I know better"


"I have 20 experienced paddlers running beginners sessions, but if I need you, I'll let you know"


My solution: Except for bringing this up as much as I can, there is precious little I can do to change people's inherent biases. I'm able to take this on the chin on some days, but on other days it makes me cry. All I can do, is remember to never judge anyone based on what they look like, fighting all my inherent biases and give them the best paddling experience I can.

Rescuing an unconscious paddler in Spring 2021. Photo credit: Thomos Outdoor World

This list is by no means exhaustive, but I hope it makes you think about how you interact with other paddlers in person and over social media. Paddlesports are not just about technique and fitness, but for confidence and overall wellbeing. We all have limits and barriers, but there is nothing worse than someone highlighting your limitations (whether real or perceived) further and reducing your confidence.


Be kind, please and happy paddling! xx

106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page