top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdya Misra

Planning a kayaking trip

Updated: Aug 10, 2019



Grey days and bad weather are perfect for planning new trips to try to do over the summer. I haven't been very lucky with weather this winter, so I've been making a mental list of places to discover this year, by foot and by kayak.


While doing this type of trip planning, there are many things to consider. I've made a rough list here for those who might want to start planning their own kayaking trips. A lot of work goes into planning even a short day-trip and I've not included tidal planning, route planning and specific trip details.


1. Ability: if going with friends, always bear in mind the group ability and whether the place you want to paddle might be too challenging. If you want to develop your skills, find a coach to accompany you and your group.


2. Budget: how much will it cost? Hiring a coach will add to your trip so bear this in mind when designing your trip. If you're doing a multi-day trip and/or involves flying to another country, this will significantly increase cost.


3. Weather: does it make sense to go paddling when the Met Office has predicted stormy weather? Possibly not. Consider if the weather conditions are safe and if likely to reduce the fun considerably if planning a trip locally. For trips further afield, consider the best season for paddling and plan your trip accordingly. You may want to think about air/water temperature, general wind patterns in the area and tides.


4. Boats: are you able to transport your boats to the area you want to paddle in? Are there any rental alternatives? Carrying kayaks/canoes on a roof rack is generally cheaper in big groups but renting can be a more hassle-free option for those in a small group or if you don't have access to boats.




5. Transport: how will you get there? If you're lucky enough to have a car, you can pretty much get anywhere for a kayaking trip. Not everyone in your group may have this option, so consider this while choosing your paddling destination. There are many places accessible by public transport that are great for a mini kayaking adventure! (I will cover this in another post).


After thinking about all these things, I've come up with a long-list of where I'd like to go this year ( in no particular order):


1. Sardinia: I paddled in Costa Esmeralda last year and the water was wild. While most of the Mediterranean sea endured what was nicknamed "Medicane", I really felt the wind while kayaking in Sardinia. Day 2 of the trip had to be cancelled due to strong winds. I need to go back and enjoy the waves a bit more this time round.



2. Anglesey: I need to get to the home of sea kayaking in the UK this year. I did little to no moderate water kayaking in 2018 so running the tide races should be interesting.



South Stack Lighthouse. Image: By Bert Kaufmann from Roermond, Netherlands [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

3. Oban: National Sea Kayak School is a few metres from the sea and opposite the whisky distillery. Do I need any more reasons?




4. Tynemouth: I hear there's a new kayak rental there now and I can't wait to explore my favourite coastline from the water.



St Mary's lighthouse and Whitley Bay

5. Lanzarote: The water looks warm and a brilliant shade of turquoise. I've been seeing people's photos from their paddles in Lanzarote with some envy: magnificent caves, beautiful beaches and fun surf.



La Graciosa, Lanzarote. Image by: Nikodem Nijaki CC-BY-SA 3.0 Unported via Wikimedia Commons


6. Peak District: It could be a chance to get in a canoe and enjoy the fresh air in the peaks. If I'm feeling brave, I might try white water canoeing!


7. River Wye: I have explored some parts of the river and the Wye valley is a truly picturesque area with some nice pubs. Camping by the river is an option for a multi-day trip if the weather allows it.


8. West Sweden Archipelago: There are 8000 islands, I've seen about 4. There are so many pretty towns along the coast and the paddling should be very exciting. I'm hoping to make it this year again, fingers crossed.




9. Liverpool-Leeds canal: its the largest canal waterway in England spanning 127 miles, 91 locks. I'm looking forward to doing a trip on the canal and discover some new pubs. We'll see about those locks though..



Image by Mat Fascione and licensed for reuse under a CC-BY-SA 2.0

This has turned out to be a wish-list of sorts because some trips are more committing than others, but in my mind, its always nice to aim for the sky :) x

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page