top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdya Misra

Five (more) things you need as a new paddleboarder

If you're reading this post, chances are you are a new paddleboarder and can't wait to get out on the water. If you haven't already, I recommend you check out my earlier post about 5 things you need before you get your board wet.


When I take new people out paddleboarding, I recommend they don't start buying all of the stuff after their first trip. Many reasons for this, but mainly, why spend the cash when you don't have to? As we build experience, our preferences change and it's important that we don't waste our hard earned money on something we may outgrow in a few months.


This post is aimed at those who have got the bare essentials sorted, love paddleboarding and are now looking into taking longer journeys or journeys further afield, maybe even some solo paddling? Great stuff.


A waterproof phone case can be handy for solo paddles


Here are my recommendations for five things that will make your life easier when taking that next step in your paddling:


  1. Neoprene boots: Standing on your board bare-feet is tempting but please consider neoprene boots if you paddle on canals or rivers, where the towpath and basin might have lots of sharps. Lakes and Sea may be okay barefeet, but I would wear boots for wading in!

  2. Quick release leash: A lot of paddleboards don't come with a quick release leash and I recommend you get one if you paddle anywhere that has potential for moving water (sea, estuary, river) or floating hazards like branches (canal, river, estuary). Check out this handy infographic from British Canoeing.

  3. Waterproof phone case: Helpful for checking weather if its a long journey and definitely helpful if you're going by yourself. If your battery life is great you could also track your journeys but I like my phone for emergencies in case I'm in trouble.

  4. Reusable water bottle/thermos flask: Depending on the day's weather you might want to carry one or both. I carry a thermos flask to this day in case I fall in and get cold on a solo journey.

  5. A windproof jacket: I carry an inexpensive waterproof, windproof jacket on paddles in my dry bag in case the weather suddenly turns. Its also helpful to have another layer if you stop for lunch and your body cools down after exercise.


An inexpensive waterproof jacket packs down and can be invaluable on a journey

The more you get out on your board, the more stuff you will think of carrying with you. I like being prepared for every eventuality, especially when I am paddling out at sea by myself. However, if you're doing a long journey on a canal with lots of portaging, the last thing you want is multiple dry bags with all sorts of things in them.


Life is about balance and decision making, and a paddlers life is full of decisions while carefully balancing on a board. I hope the above points are helpful and give you something to think about ahead of the summer season.

Happy Paddling! xx



102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page